New cabinet led by Liz Truss in Britain

New cabinet led by Liz Truss in Britain
New cabinet led by Liz Truss in Britain

The new head of the Conservative Party, Liz Truss, has formed a new cabinet after taking over as Prime Minister of Britain. Almost everyone in Boris’s cabinet was dropped in the new cabinet under his leadership. After Queen Elizabeth invited Liz Truss to form the next government on Tuesday afternoon, Truss announced the names of his cabinet members.

Liz Truss has promised a bold plan to tackle the country’s economic woes as prime minister. To implement that plan, Liz Truss brought major changes in the cabinet while sitting in the chair of the Prime Minister.

Many people close to Truss are in the new cabinet. Again, many influential leaders of the country have been left out of the list of ministers. Kwasi Kwarteng has been appointed Finance Minister in the new Lease Truss Cabinet. James Cleverley has been appointed as Foreign Minister. And Suella Braverman has been given the responsibility of Home Minister. Michelle Donelan has been given the responsibility of the Ministry of Culture.

Therese Coffey, a close friend of Liz Truss, has become the UK’s new Deputy Prime Minister and Health Minister. Many of former Prime Minister Boris Johnson’s cabinet have been dropped from the newly announced cabinet. One of them is former Justice Minister Dominic Raab. Former transport minister Grant Shapps and former health minister Steve Barkley are not on the list of new ministers. Former International Trade Minister Penny Mordant has been appointed as the leader of the House of Commons, the lower house of the UK Parliament.

Kemi Badenoch is the new International Trade Minister. Chloe Smith became Minister for Work and Pensions. Keith Malthouse has received the responsibility of the Ministry of Education. Jacob Rees-Mogg, a long-time supporter of Truss, became minister for business, energy and industrial strategy. Simon Clarke is taking charge of the Ministry of Leveling Up. And Anne-Marie Trevelyan has been appointed as Transport Minister.

Ronil Jayawardena has been made the Minister of Environment and Brandon Lewis has been given the responsibility of the Ministry of Justice. Nadeem Zahabi has left the post of Finance Minister to become Minister of Intergovernmental Relations and Equality. And like last time, Ben Wallace has kept the Ministry of Defense in his possession. Chris Heaton–Harris became Minister for Northern Ireland, among others in the Cabinet. Alastair Jack and Robert Buckland have been appointed as Minister for Scotland and Minister for Wales respectively. Jake Berry has become the chairman and minister without office of the ruling party Conservative Party (Tory).

Lord True appointed as Attorney General. Alok Sharma retained his position as President of Cop-26 in the Cabinet. In the Tory leadership race, Liz Truss became the leader of the party after defeating former finance minister Rishi Sunak of Indian origin last Monday.

Before taking office, Liz Truss visited the Queen’s private residence in Scotland, Balmoral Palace, to meet Elizabeth II. The Queen’s invitation to form a government ends a two-month interim administration, which began amid a series of scandals when Boris Johnson was forced to resign. However, how long Liz Truss can stay in power is being discussed and criticized across Britain. It is known that many MPs are planning to bring motion of no confidence against him.

(Dhakatimes/September 7/KM)

The article is in Bengali

Tags: cabinet led Liz Truss Britain