News Daily Digital Desk: A seemingly harmless match. But who knew that such a great controversy would arise from the Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh match! Angelo Mathews (Angelo Mathews) expressed his anger on the field by being ‘Timed Out’ for the first time in international cricket. He threw away the helmet before going to the dressing room. However, his anger did not subside. The manifestation of that anger was seen in the press conference at the end of the match. Even in his own X handle Shakib Al Hasan (Shakib Al Hasan) and the fourth umpire Adrian Holdstock (Adrian Holdstock) protested strongly.
Shakib got out after scoring 82 runs off 56 balls by Mathews. However, Sri Lanka lost the match by 3 wickets. “I did nothing wrong. I had two minutes to reach the crease and prepare myself. Which I did. But after that the equipment broke down. I don’t know where is the common sense of Bangladesh,” he said in a press conference. Gone.”
He did not stop here. He added, “What Shakib Al Hasan and Bangladesh have done is a shame. If they want to play cricket like this, they are in a terrible mess. They have sunk to the lowest level. I wish I had delayed and the two minutes I had.” If I had missed the deadline, it would have been a different story. But here’s where I went wrong! What if my helmet strap breaks!”
[আরও পড়ুন: অ্যাঞ্জেলো ম্যাথিউজ নন, ‘টাইমড আউট’ হওয়া প্রথম ক্রিকেটার হতে পারতেন সৌরভ]
The Sri Lankan star cricketer also claimed that there is a lack of ‘common sense’ among Bangladeshi cricketers. At the same time, he also claimed that Sri Lanka has video footage, which will prove that he entered the field within two minutes.
“According to the World Cup rules, I should have gone to the crease in two minutes. By law, I should have gone to the crease in two minutes. I went to the crease in 1 minute 45 seconds or 1 minute 50 seconds. After your helmet strap rips, I have five more in my hands,” Matthews said. There were seconds. The umpires also told our coaches that they didn’t see my helmet break. I was just asking for my helmet. So it’s just a matter of common sense.”
After that, Mathews put the fourth umpire on his X handle again at night. He wrote, ‘The fourth umpire is absolutely wrong. I had five more seconds. I have that video. Did the fourth umpire realize his mistake? Should I bat without a helmet? Who will take responsibility for my protection?’ He even tried to prove himself right by posting two pictures in the next X message.
However, fourth umpire Adrian Holdstock claimed that Matthews’ helmet strap had snapped after two minutes had passed since arriving at the crease. As per the rules it is out.