Shakib loses to Mashrafe in BPL

Mashrafe Bin Mortuza’s team Sylhet Strikers and Shakib Al Hasan’s team Fortune Barisal met on the second day of the 9th Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) T20 tournament. Mashrafe led that match but Shakib did not captain. But Mashrafe had the last laugh in Sylhet’s 6-wicket victory. After a gap of 17 days, Sylhet defeated Barisal again in the face-to-face match led by Mashrafe-Shaqib on Tuesday afternoon at the same venue, Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

This time, however, it was a tight fight until the last ball. Barisal lost by only 2 runs in the final match. Sylhet scored 173 runs for 5 wickets in the 20 overs decided by batting earlier. In response, Barisal managed to score 171 runs for 8 wickets in 20 overs. It was the seventh match between the two teams. Due to having 10 points with 5 wins in the previous 6 matches, this match became the top position. In the end, Durbar Sylhet remained at the top with 12 points in the current BPL. With 10 points, Shakibra remained in the second position for the time being.
Sylhet lost the toss and went into bat in the beginning. The second over bowled by Pakistani pacer Mohammad Wasim was hit. Zakir Hasan (0) bowled the first ball, Tauhid Hridoy (4) caught from injury on the fifth ball and veteran Mushfiqur Rahim (0) went lbw on the last ball. After losing 3 wickets for 15 runs in 2 overs, Nazmul Hossain Shanto and Tom Moores led Sylhet to a great collection in the fourth wicket.

They made a pair of 81 runs from 71 balls. Moors scored 40 off 30 balls with 4 fours and 1 six before stumping Shakib’s left-arm spin. After that, Shanta took the team to a big capital by forming a stormy partnership of 68 runs from just 34 balls with the experienced Sri Lankan all-rounder Thisara Perera in the fifth wicket. Thisara returned home with 21 runs off 16 balls with 4 fours. But he remained calm till the end after getting the tenth fifty of his career. He played fifty after playing 48 balls to take control of the team’s disaster. Batted quickly in the next over and ended up unbeaten on 89 off 66 balls with 11 fours and 1 six. Sylhet made a challenging collection of 173 runs for 5 wickets in the allotted 20 overs. Wasim took 3 wickets for 34 runs in 4 overs.
In response, Barisal got off to a flying start thanks to Saif Hasan and Ibrahim Zadran’s aggressive batting and easy catch misses by the Sylhet fielders. Young right-arm pacer Tanjim Hasan Shakib gave Sylhet a break through on the fifth ball of the fifth over. Saif returned to Sajghar with 31 runs off 19 balls and 4 sixes. Then the pace of the run slows down. In the seventh over, Enamul Haque Vijay (3) returned to Sajghar after becoming Tanjim’s second victim. Ibrahim and captain Shakib made a partnership of 61 runs for the third wicket.

They picked up 20 runs by beating Rezaur Rahman Raja in the tenth over. As a result, they continue to move in the right direction. It was Raja who hit a couple of strikes in the 20th over to give Sylhet control of the match. Ibrahim scored 42 runs in 37 balls with 4 fours and 12 sixes and Shakib scored 29 runs in 18 balls with 3 fours and 1 six – both were bowled by Raja. But in the 16th over, Karim Janat hit Mashrafe for 3 consecutive sixes and gave Barisal hope of victory again. 21 runs came in that over. In the 17th over, that Janat scored 21 runs off 12 balls and returned to Sajghar after being cut and bowled by Mohammad Amir.

Barisal still needed 41 runs in 3 overs. But the match took a dramatic turn when Iftikhar Ahmed took 18 runs after beating Tanjim in the 18th over. 23 runs were required in 2 overs but it didn’t happen. When 14 runs were needed in the last over, Raja bowled the first ball wide but Iftikhar (17 off 13 balls) and Mehdi Hasan Miraj (run out for 7 runs) returned to Sajghar in two consecutive balls. However, Wasim sealed the match by hitting a six off the fifth ball.

But even though he needed 7 runs off the last ball, he managed to score four. As a result, Barisal’s innings stopped at 171 runs for 8 wickets. Raja took 3 wickets for 41 runs in 4 overs and Tanjim and Amir took 2 wickets each.
score Sylhet Strikers innings- 173/5; 20 overs (Shant 89*, Moors 40, Thisara 21; Wasim 3/34).
Fortune Barisal innings- 171/8; 20 overs (Ibrahim 42, Saif 31, Shakib 29, Karim 21; Raja 3/41, Amir 2/24, Tanjim 2/40). fruit Sylhet Strikers won by 2 runs. Man of the match Nazmul Hossain Shanto (Sylhet Strikers).

The article is in Bengali

Tags: Shakib loses Mashrafe BPL

NEXT Door ‘open’ for Malik-Amir