39 A.League leaders in Barisal district chairman race

39 A.League leaders in Barisal district chairman race
39 A.League leaders in Barisal district chairman race

39 Awami League leaders have entered the field to get party nomination for the post of Zilla Parishad Chairman in 6 districts of Barisal. Among them are the current administrators of the parishads as well as former members of parliament, mayors and upazila chairmen. Leaders who have been in charge for 3-4 consecutive times as chairman and administrator also want to become chairman again. However, activists have raised different demands this time. Most want the deprived leaders to get party nomination. In this case, they also demand the exclusion of former members of parliament, district chairman, mayor and upazila chairman. Meanwhile, the Zilla Parishad voters of Pirojpur held a rally on Saturday. 680 of 747 voters were present there. They have requested to give party nomination to the current Zilla Parishad Administrator Mohiuddin Maharaj.

In the current term of the Awami League government, the administrator was first appointed in the district council. Later the chairman was elected through voting. According to the provisions UP Chairman, Members, Mayor, Ward Councillor, Upazila Chairman and Vice Chairman vote in this election. The term of the last chairmen in the Zilla Parishad ended on April 17. The government gave them the responsibility of administrator for the interim period. The Election Commission has announced the schedule for the new Zilla Parishad elections on August 31. According to the schedule, the election will be held on 17th of this month. BNP has already boycotted this election. Almost all the voters are from the ruling party. As a result, the nomination of Awami League means a sure victory. In this possibility, the maximum number of Awami League leaders in the six districts of Barisal have entered the party nomination race.

Former district council chairman Khan Altaf Hossain Bhulu and current administrator former member of parliament Maidul Islam are in the race. Four more names are in discussion for nomination. Although they are not saying anything. According to several sources, they are waiting for the decision of the District Awami League President, Member of Parliament Abul Hasanat Abdullah, convener of the inspection committee regarding the implementation of the Hill Peace Agreement. Whoever he tells will buy the party nomination petition. The four under discussion are the former general secretary of the district Awami League Talukdar Md. Yunus, Chamber President and Sadar Upazila Chairman Saidur Rahman Rintu, Metropolitan Awami League President AKM Jahangir and Metropolitan Awami League Vice President Afzalul Karim. Abul Hasanat Abdullah said that the party’s nomination board will decide on the matter. The person Sheikh Hasina will nominate will be the party candidate.

Similar to Barisal, the situation is in Bhola and Jhalkathi. The nomination candidates of these two districts are looking towards central leader-member of parliament Tofail Ahmed and Amir Hossain Amu. Apart from the current district council administrator Abdul Momin Tulu in Bhola, district Awami League president former upazila chairman Fazlul Quader Majnu Molla and district Awami League senior vice-president Hamidul Haque Bahalul are hoping for party nomination. Among them, Momin has been in charge for four consecutive terms as administrator and chairman. Half a dozen leaders are seeking nomination in Jhalkathi. They are District Awami League President Sardar Shah Alam, General Secretary Khan Saifullah Panir, current Chairman of Sadar Upazila Arifur Rahman Khan, recently former member of Zilla Parishad Faizur Rob Azad, Vice President of District Awami League, former Upazila Chairman GK Mostafizur Rahman and Salahuddin Ahmed Salek, another vice president of the district, is a former district council member. The local leaders and activists of the party said that first of all it is necessary to evaluate the deprived leaders. Those who were members of parliament, chairman or administrator at some time or another are not above criticism anymore. In this case, there will be no controversy if someone of ‘clean image’ gets nominated.

The current administrator of Pirojpur Zilla Parishad, former district chairman, organizing secretary of district Awami League, Mohiuddin Maharaj, is giving surprise answers one after another. In this district, a total of six names including him are being heard as party nomination candidates. But in the latest situation, it is almost certain that Maharaj will be the Zilla Parishad Chairman here. A few weeks ago, 704 of the 747 voters here sent a letter to party president Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina requesting him to be nominated by the party. On Saturday, they again held a meeting at Harinpala Ecopark in Telikhali area of ​​Bhandaria upazila. Maharaj was also demanded to give party nomination there. 680 out of 747 voters were present in the meeting. Apart from Maharaj, those who are seeking party nomination here are Salma Rahman Happy, wife of current Chairman of Pirojpur Sadar Upazila Mujibur Rahman Khalek, brother of former parliament member AKMA Awal, another brother of Awal, central leader of Jubo League Moshiur Rahman Maharaj and former MP president Shah Alam. Apart from this, the names of Awal and Awami League central leader Ishaq Ali Khan Panna are heard but they are not saying anything publicly.

10 leaders are seeking nomination in Patuakhali. They are current administrator Khalilur Rahman Mohan, party district president freedom fighter Kazi Alamgir, former upazila and municipal chairman Sultan Ahmed Mridha, former Awami League leader party district secretary VP Abdul Mannan, Jubo League leader Noor Mohammad Jahangir Hossain, Awami League leader Shahin Mia, Taslim Sikdar. , District Vice President Alamgir Mia, Dhaka University Senate Member. Alauddin and District Vice President Principal Syed Babul.

In Barguna, the current administrator, former member of parliament, Delwar Hossain, former district council administrator Jahangir Kabir, district general secretary of the party, joint general secretary, freedom fighter Motaleb Hossain Mridha, son of Shahid family, former upazila chairman Abbas Hossain Montu Molla, expelled from the party, Motaleb Mia, are seeking party nomination. Two-time Mayor Shahjahan Miah, party’s District Information and Research Secretary Mojibul Haque Kislu and Himu Mollah.

Several leaders and activists of the district Awami League said, it appears that the same people are becoming members of parliament, mayor and chairman again and again. However, there are many self-sacrificing leaders in the party and it is important to evaluate them. Now the party nomination should be given to the deprived.

The article is in Bengali

Tags: #A.League leaders Barisal district chairman race

PREV Meena Day is celebrated in various programs
NEXT Propaganda by distorting prayer and speech: Dist