India win over Dutch in Champions Trophy Bangladesh-938761

India win over Dutch in Champions Trophy Bangladesh-938761
India win over Dutch in Champions Trophy Bangladesh-938761

India beat the Netherlands by 160 runs in the last match of the first phase at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on Sunday. And this confirmed Bangladesh’s participation in the 8-team ODI tournament to be held in Pakistan in 2025.

Bangladesh reached the country this morning after their mission of failure in the World Cup. Although knocked out of the World Cup with seven losses in 9 matches, the Tigers’ place in the 2025 Champions Trophy depended on the India vs Netherlands match. History was on the cards for the Dutch in Bangalore today in the final match of the World Cup group stage. The Netherlands will get a ticket for the 2025 Champions Trophy if they win against India or earn a point in a draw. However, the fate of Bangladesh in the Champions Trophy depended on India’s victory. Rohit Sharma’s team won 9 matches in a row in the World Cup after defeating the Dutch by a huge margin of 160 runs on the day of such an equation.

The two Indian openers got off to a flying start after winning the toss and batting first. Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill completed the team’s half century in the sixth over of the innings. The Indian batsmen indicated a big collection by scoring 91 runs without losing any wicket in the batting power play. Rahul was dismissed with 102 runs off 64 balls but Shreyas was unbeaten with 128 runs off 94 balls.

India scored 410 runs in Pahar time on Shreyas-Rahul’s century. Chasing a mountain time target of 411 runs, the Netherlands were stopped at 250 runs by the Indian bowlers. As a result, India finished the group stage of the World Cup with 9 consecutive wins. With this victory, Bangladesh’s place in the 2025 Champions Trophy has been confirmed. According to ICC rules, the top eight teams in the World Cup (including Pakistan) will qualify for the Champions Trophy.

Although Bangladesh secured the Champions Trophy in some way, Afghanistan got the ticket for the first time by playing cricket in Daput. Apart from the expected win against the Netherlands, they lost to England, Sri Lanka, Pakistan.

Having won only two World Cups, Sri Lanka will not be able to play in the Champions Trophy this time. They have played in each of the previous eight seasons. In 2002, they became joint champions at home. This is the first time they will not play in this tournament.

BD Daily/Arafat

The article is in Bengali


Tags: India win Dutch Champions Trophy Bangladesh938761


PREV 3 arrested in the case of double murder in Sirajganj
NEXT Twelfth parliamentary election without BNPK!