Laxmipur-Brahmanbaria two

Laxmipur-Brahmanbaria two
Laxmipur-Brahmanbaria two

Dhaka: The gazette publication of the by-elections of Laxmipur-3 and Brahmanbaria-2 constituencies has been postponed. Action will be taken after investigation.

Election Commission (EC) Secretary Md. Jahangir Alam. On Tuesday (November 7), he told reporters at the election building.

He said that in the law, if there is any specific complaint after the announcement of the election results, the commission can suspend publication of the gazette and order an investigation. Complaints have been received regarding polling of two constituencies, according to which investigation is going on. Action will be taken after investigation report.

In response to the question whether the result gazette has been suspended or not, the EC secretary said, yes, it has been suspended.

Also Read: EC closes mouth on sealing question in Lakshmipur by-elections

According to the People’s Representation Order, if the investigation report proves the allegations of vote rigging, the commission can cancel the election or cancel the election of the concerned center.

A video of the Laxmipur by-election on Monday went viral on social media. It can be seen that a person wearing a white Punjabi is stamping the boat symbol one by one on the ballot paper.

According to media reports, the name of the person who struck the seal is Azad Hossain. He was the vice-president of Chandraganj Thana Chhatra League of Lakshmipur. However, he was recently expelled by the District Chhatra League for violating party discipline.

In Lakshmipur-3 by-election, Jatiya Party’s Muhammad Rakib Hossain in the plow symbol, Bangladesh Awami League’s Mohammad Golam Farooq in the boat symbol, Zaker Party’s Md. in the rose flower symbol. Samshul Karim and Am Pradi were contested by Salim Mahmud of the National People’s Party. Total voters in this constituency are 4 lakh 3 thousand 744 people. Voting has been conducted in 827 polling booths of 115 polling stations.

In the election, the candidate of the boat symbol Mohammad Golam Farooq Pingku won by getting 120 thousand 599 votes. The vote was 31.85 percent. His closest rival got 3,846 votes with the plow symbol.

Also read: Viral Chhatra League leader killed 43 seals in 57 seconds on a boat

Awami League candidate (Boat) Principal Shahjahan Alam Saju was elected privately in Brahmanbaria-2 (Sarail-Ashuganj) seat by-election. He was elected privately by getting more than 28 thousand 556 votes.

According to the results obtained from 132 polling stations, the principal Shahjahan Alam Saju got 66 thousand 314 votes and his nearest rival independent candidate (banana stick) Advocate Ziaul Haque Mridha got 37 thousand 758 votes.

Abdul Hamid Bhasani of Jatiya Party (Plow) got 3 thousand 142 votes, Zahirul Islam Jewel (Rose) of Zaker Party got 561 votes and National People’s Party (Mango) got 739 votes.

Bangladesh Time: 1631 hours, November 7, 2023

The article is in Bengali

Tags: LaxmipurBrahmanbaria


PREV Bangladesh stopped with the first ball of the day
NEXT Bangladesh looking for wickets sport