Gazipur City Election: Who Got How Many Votes?

Gazipur City Election: Who Got How Many Votes?
Gazipur City Election: Who Got How Many Votes?

Former mayor Jahangir Alam’s mother Zayeda Khatun has been elected as an independent candidate of the table clock symbol in the Gazipur City Corporation elections. Zayeda Khatun has been elected the first woman mayor of Gazipur after defeating the candidate Azmat Ulla Khan by 16 thousand 197 votes. He got two lakh 38 thousand 934 votes. His closest candidate Awami League advocate Azmat Ulla Khan got two lakh 22 thousand 737 votes.

Returning officer Faridul Islame announced the result on Thursday (May 25) at 1:30 am.

Gazi Ataur Rahman, the candidate of Islamic Movement of Bangladesh in the election, got 45 thousand 352 votes. He finished third in the final result.

Apart from this, Jatiya Party candidate MM Niaz Uddin got 16 thousand 362 votes among other mayoral candidates. Zaker’s party in the rose flower symbol. Raju Ahmed 7 thousand 206 votes, Ganofront candidate Atiqul Islam 16 thousand 974 votes, independent candidate horse symbol. Haroon-ur-Rashid got 2 thousand 426 votes and Shahnur Islam’s government with elephant symbol got 23 thousand 265 votes.

Earlier on Thursday from 8 am to 4 pm polling was conducted uninterruptedly in a fair and peaceful environment. Voters complained of slowness and complications in EVMs in some centers. However, no untoward incident was reported anywhere.

In the morning, some centers of the city saw a large crowd of voters, but in the afternoon, the turnout was slightly less. The presence of female voters was more than male voters in the polling stations.

8 candidates for the post of mayor and 248 candidates for the post of councilor and 79 candidates for the post of women councilor contested in the election. The total number of voters in the city is 11 lakh 79 thousand 476 people. Among them 5 lakh 92 thousand 762 men and 5 lakh 86 thousand 696 women. 18 third gender voters.


The article is in Bengali


Tags: Gazipur City Election Votes


PREV Bangladesh won the series very dramatically
NEXT Today’s SSC exam of all education boards has been postponed